Raw Ramp: Freak Inside at PLANET BOOTY

Neil Mach

The freakin’ electro-funk group Planet Booty from Oakland, CA includes long-time best friends: Dylan Charles Germick (vocals, trumpet, beats), Josh Cantero (vocals, keyboard, trombone) and Rob Gwin (bass, percussion, software). Their new video for the song “Freak Inside” is a perfect example of their ability to entertain and make great music. This has an itch ‘n’ scratchy electro beat and young-funk in its heart. With dynamic percussion, absorbing vocals and an innate RnB sensibility — this reminds us of Major Lazer. Sweat-inducing funk, vital rhythms and golden, butter-rolled soul… all wrapped up and delivered with some hypnotic dance-synths.